logo for dance award 

Pacific Northwest Ballet was thrilled to learn today that corps de ballet dancer Margaret Mullin has been chosen as a recipient of the prestigious Princess Grace Award. Presented by the Princess Grace Foundation-USA, the Awards help emerging artists pursue their artistic goals in theater, film, dance and choreography.

Margaret Mullin is from Tucson, Arizona. She studied on scholarship at Ballet Arts Tucson and at Pacific Northwest Ballet School, and attended summer courses at Ballet Tucson, Pacific Northwest Ballet School, and Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp. She was the recipient of a Thurber Scholarship Award in 2003 and 2004, and the 2007 Founding Director Scholarship Award from Angela Whitehill of Burklyn Ballet. Ms. Mullin joined Pacific Northwest Ballet as an apprentice in 2008 and was promoted to corps de ballet in 2009.

“We collectively congratulate Margaret Mullin on being awarded a Princess Grace Award,” said PNB artistic director Peter Boal. “Maggie is an artist of tremendous potential and versatility. Her talent along with a strong work ethic and an engaging stage presence are all part of this well-deserved honor.”

Past recipients of the Princess Grace Award from Pacific Northwest Ballet and Pacific Northwest Ballet School include current PNB dancers Benjamin Griffiths (Boston Ballet, 2003), Andrew Bartee (PNB School, 2007), and Lucien Postlewaite (PNB, 2008); former PNB dancers Miranda Weese (New York City Ballet, 1995), Seth Belliston (PNB, 1996), Stanko Milov (Pittsburgh Ballet Theater, 1997), and Le Yin (Houston Ballet, 1998); and former PNB School students Drew Jacoby (LINES, 2005) and  Meredith Webster (LINES, 2007).

Former PNB principal Olivier Wevers was another of this year’s Princess Grace Award-winners, receiving a choreography fellowship through Spectrum Dance Theater. “I am so pleased to learn of Olivier’s award,” continued Mr. Boal. “Watching Olivier develop and grow as a choreographer over the past decade has been rewarding for all of us at PNB. We congratulate him on the distinguished honor and look forward to his bright future as a choreographer.”

PNB also congratulates Seattle-based choreographer Zoe Scofield, who received this year’s other choreography fellowship from the Princess Grace Foundation-USA.


Each year, the Foundation presents the Princess Grace Awards to artists who show excellence and promise in the areas of theater, dance, and film. Students are eligible for scholarships; emerging artists working in companies qualify for apprenticeships and fellowships. A playwriting fellowship is available for individual artists through a residency at New Dramatists in New York City, which includes the opportunity to have the winning play be licensed and published by Samuel French, Inc. In addition to these, the Foundation also gives honorable mention grants to applicants through Honoraria. 

The 2011 Princess Grace Awards winners (listed below) represent 20 colleges, universities, and not-for-profit theater and dance companies throughout the United States. The Awards winners exemplify both classical and experimental artistic disciplines and, while still considered emerging talent, already show exceptional promise in their areas of expertise. The Foundation’s support assists their theater and dance studies, helps pay their artistic fees at non-profit theater and dance companies and helps support their thesis film projects. In addition to the Awards, the Princess Grace Foundation-USA extends general operating monies to companies hosting an Awards winner. This year’s Princess Grace Awards winners are:


Joseph Gorak

Dance Fellowship

American Ballet Theatre

Margaret Mullin

Dance Fellowship

Pacific Northwest Ballet

Casia Vengoechea

Dance Scholarship

The Julliard School-Dance Division

Olivier Wevers

Choreography Fellowship

Spectrum Dance Theater



The Princess Grace Foundation-USA is a not-for-profit, publicly-supported foundation, headquartered in New York City and founded more than 25 years ago by Prince Rainier III of Monaco in honor of his wife, Princess Grace [Kelly]. The Foundation’s mission, that mirrors Princess Grace’s in Her lifetime, is to support emerging artists in theater, dance and film through the awarding of scholarships, apprenticeships and fellowships. Since the Foundation’s inception, more than 700 Awards have been given to recipients, totaling more than $8.5 million. Some notable Princess Grace Awards recipients in Theater include: 2008 Tony® Award winner for Best Direction of a Play, Anna D. Shapiro; Pulitzer and Tony® Award winning playwright Tony Kushner; and Academy Award® winner Eric Simonson. Film recipients include: Stephen Hillenburg, creator of SpongeBob SquarePants; Greg Mottola, director of Paul, Adventureland and Superbad; and Cary Joji Fukunaga, writer and director of Sin Nombre and Jane Eyre. Dance/Choreography Awards recipients include: Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater Artistic Director Robert Battle; American Ballet Theatre’s Gillian Murphy, Ethan Stiefel and Sarah Lane; as well as choreographers Andrea Miller and Dominic Walsh.


, , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply